Tags

, , , , , , ,

It was during a time that I was stressing about something- I believe it was about my social work licensure exam. On my way home one night, it was like this revelation dawned one me and I was like “Peace is my inheritance”. I am a daughter of God and one of the benefits of being in the kingdom is Peace. I’ve learned before that sometimes you have to fight for your peace. This time I was learning that it is what I am called to and is my inheritance. I wanted my peace!

I started reading Matthew 11:25-30.

“At that time Jesus declared, “I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children; 26 yes, Father, for such was your gracious will.[g] 27 All things have been handed over to me by my Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son chooses to reveal him. 28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

On the way to pick up the girls from school (I work at a group home), I began meditating on this “take my yoke”. It is interesting language. It’s not a passive wait-for-it-to-happen moment. Grammatically, “take” is an action verb. Sometimes you have to take hold. How do you take hold?

Be still.

As the psalmist said, “Be still and know that He is God.” Sometimes to get rest, you have to rest. It’s that moment where you get before God and be still recognizing who He is:

Be still and know that He is faithful.
Be still and know that He is in you and with you.
Be still and know that He is high above it all.
Be still and know that He is seated on the throne.
Be still and know that He is the immovable Rock.

On and on…

As you sit before God, full attention on Him, gaze fixed on Him, declaring and reminding yourself of who He is, peace and rest will flood your soul. Just breathe and soak it in. The principle to this is that it take your eyes and your mind off of what is going on around you and puts it back on God. It gives you Heavenly perspective. For we are seated in heavenly places with Jesus (Eph 2).

That’s one of the reasons why I believe praise is such a weapon. Praise puts your eyes on God and strengthens your spirit. There are times when I can walk into church bent over about something going on in my life, and when we sing “Great I am”, my eyes get refocused back on God and I remember how big and powerful He is, and I leave standing.

So, as I was on my way to pick up the girls from school, peace came as I began to be still and know that He is God and declared who He is. I took hold and found peace and rest.

It is your inheritance. It is a benefit of being in the kingdom. Take hold!

